Energy Conversations with a Scientist

 

https://niflheimmedia.wordpress.com/2016/07/21/3-alternative-energy-ideas-better-than-pv-panels-and-spinning-windmills/

Jason,

I thought I’d start a new email thread.

I admire inventors including you. I invented a little – I have one patent. I’m an educator of sorts, and attempt to pass along some of my limited knowledge.

One thing I cannot teach is to be an inventor. You are or you’re not. I think you are, so don’t let me stop you. However, I hope you peruse the following.

Power from the Wind

Wind provides excellent fodder for inventors. Any new method, wind sails, practical homeowner wind generators, etc. are welcome. However, I suggest you don’t throw out the baby with the bathwater. Windmills are still viable:

1. Bird Choppers? Current design windmills kill far fewer birds than the power plants they replace. In addition, they kill fewer than birds flying into plate glass windows.

– The Audubon Society supports windmills. These premiere bird lovers have a few conditions and work with windmill engineers and planners. They ‘don’t want windmills constructed on migration flyways,’ and they insist on participation in their design and location.

– We need Inventors to figure out how to reduce bird deaths from windmills. Perhaps slow the blades or reflective and sound generation on the blades?

Climate Models

2. The Report cited from APS Physics fails on several points even though it does what good science requires – it questions everything. The UNLV blog also asks some good questions. It’s always useful to review the models and data.

Problems:

a. There was no mention of consilience –I’ve already written about this.

b. Rate of temperature rise is not considered – it’s 10 times higher than 800,000 years..

c. They cited the 15 year temperature slowdown. A TEMPERAUTURE SLOWDOWN NEVER HAPPENED. https://goo.gl/R5sVqy

I’ve considerable experience in analyzing data from complex chemical processes. My analysis of the data confirms that there was no slowdown – it’s the opposite. See chart in my attachment in MSWord format.

The chart shows the earth’s temperature trend from NOAA and UAH (University of Alabama Huntsville). I include the 95% confidence interval. Note my baseline is year 1965 so my temperatures anomalies (y data) are about 0.3 degrees lower than https://goo.gl/R5sVqy

With my baseline, the temperature anomaly for 2016 to date would be about 1.1 degrees, namely: OFF THE CHART. If anything global temperature increase is accelerating.

Note the coefficient of determination (r2) for the NOAA data is 0.86, which means the relationship of year to temperature rise is very good. Also, note that the UAH trend and Japanese trends fall within the 95% confidence interval. r2 for UAH data is 0.6, which is poor. I used raw data from the UAH website to develop the curve. Climate deniers often cite UAH as proof of the temperature slowdown. Note similar NASA and Climate U.K. trends also fall within the 95% confidence interval. (95% of data fall within the interval.)

The chart I developed is in the attachment in MS Word. Let me know if you need it in a different format.

Lynn

Leave a Reply

